• JUser::_load: Unable to load user with id: 79
Monday, April 30, 2012

BNSF salutes 2011 Employees of the Year

Written by 

BNSF honored the accomplishments of employees from across its network at a recent awards ceremony in Fort Worth, Texas. The event recognized BNSF's Safety Employees of the Year, Achievement Award winners and the "Best of the Best" leaders of teams that showed outstanding safety performance in 2011.

"The Employees of the Year awards are designed to recognize employees who demonstrate BNSF's Vision and Values through their commitment, leadership and focus on working safely and efficiently to meet our customers' expectations," said Matthew Rose, BNSF chairman and chief executive officer. "These employees are leading by example and represent what we are striving to become as a company and a community."

Six BNSF employees were honored as Safety Employees of the Year for outstanding contributions in support of an injury and accident-free workplace; Lanny Billings, locomotive engineer, from Spokane, Wash.; Mark Johnson, switchman, from Galveston, Texas; Matt Lehr, switchman, from Lincoln, Neb.; Bryant Quick, signal inspector, from Alliance, Neb.; Tony Soto, Intermodal clerk, from Corwith, Ill.; and Jeremy Trueax, carman, from Havre, Mont.

Lehr was also named BNSF's Hammond Award nominee. The Hammond Award is a national award that recognizes an employee's efforts to improve safety within the rail industry and communities.

BNSF presented more than 600 Achievement Awards in 2011. Of these, 111 employees representing 20 different teams and individual achievements were honored as Employees of the Year for a wide range of accomplishments.
Best of the Best recognition went to honorees who exhibited exceptional safety performance in leading teams that worked injury-free in 2011.