Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Mass. Gov. Patrick appoints MassDOT Board of Directors

Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick appointed Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) Board of Directors, adding to the panel new individuals with extensive expertise and leadership in transportation and business.

The governor appointed new members Alan Macdonald and Joseph Bonfiglio and reappointed former Board Chairman John Jenkins and former board members Ferdinand Alvaro, Janice Loux and Andrew Whittle. Secretary Richard Davey will serve as an ex-officio member as prescribed by legislation passed in July expanding the board to seven members from five.

"We are at a crossroads in transportation and must tackle the challenges we face head on," said Governor Patrick. "I have confidence that this board, with its depth of expertise and its understanding of the importance of a strong transportation system to a robust 21st century economy, will rise to the challenges and help us find ways to maintain and improve our transportation system for the long-term."

The board will be chaired by John Jenkins, who served as chairman of both the MassDOT and Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority Boards before they were dissolved.

Get the latest rail news

The inside scoop from RT&S, IRJ and Railway Age on and off the track. Join our email list.