FRA announces new Bipartisan Infrastructure Law Program for intercity passenger rail service

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) has established the new Corridor Identification and Development (ID) Program.

Amtrak leverages weekend service outages to make critical repairs in North River Tunnel

Amtrak personnel recently spent a series of consecutive weekends in March remediating damage to the benchwall system in the South Tube of the North River Tunnel.

REMSA introduces its 2022 Innovation Award

The Railway Engineering-Maintenance Suppliers Association (REMSA) has announced a new award program to recognize organizational achievement by a REMSA member.

Walla Walla County in Washington received approval of rail crossing safety upgrades

Washington state regulators approved  $96,348  in  grant funding  for  safety upgrades at railroad  crossings  in Walla Walla County.

TSB of Canada reports on Canadian National mainline derailment

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada, that country’s equivalent of the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board, issued a report on a Canadian National main line derailment that occurred on June 3, 2021.

Watch: Union Pacific develops vegetation management technology

Developed by the railroad’s own employees, the new spraying technology boosts its ability to manage vegetation while translating to more efficiency for Union Pacific’s entire 23-state network.

Illinois investing in rail improvements

The Illinois Commerce Commission announced a couple of upcoming grade crossing protection projects in the state.

RTD to test crossing warning systems along N Line

The Regional Transportation District (RTD) in Denver will perform federally required annual testing this week that involves sounding train horns through crossings along the N Line.

MTA details signal upgrades, track maintenance work and service changes happening over President’s Day weekend

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) announced several projects taking place over President’s Day Weekend, between Friday, Feb. 18 and Tuesday, Feb. 22.

Watch and read: Union Pacific’s new Maintenance of Way train completes maiden voyage

Part tie pickup, part brush cutter, part ditch cleaner, the new Maintenance of Way train might just be the most versatile piece of equipment in Union Pacific’s arsenal.