Safe Railroad Contractor of the Year Awards announced

Written by admin

The results of the 2011 NRC/RT&S/Commercial Insurance Associates Safe Railroad Contractor of the Year Awards are in. Enthusiastic participation in the contest continued this year, with 45 total railroad contracting companies preparing entries.

In an e-mail to members, the NRC said, “The competition is getting tougher every year and the judges have once again reported that the overall quality of submissions is rising. This reflects very well on the participating contractors and speaks to the fact that the railroad contracting industry is safe and getting safer.”

The judges for the 2011 awards were David Armstrong, principal, Commercial Insurance Associates and Tom Streicher, general superintendent safety and operating practices, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association.

Special congratulations to the four category winners:
– US Trackworks, LLC, of Wayland, Mich. Category I (under 35 employees)
– L.K. Comstock National Transit of New York Category II (36-100 employees)
– Moran Environmental Recovery, LLC of Randolph, Mass. Category III (101-300 employees)
– Kiewit Infrastructure West of Phoenix, Ariz. Category IV (301+ employees)

Category awards, Gold, Silver and Bronze medal awards, as well as Certificates of Commendation will be handed out at the NRC Annual Conference and Exhibition in San Diego, Calif., Jan. 4-8, 2012. A full list of winners will appear in the May issue of RT&S.

Categories: ON Track Maintenance, Safety/Training, Supplier News