• Uncategorized

Amtrak adds two new board members

Written by Jenifer Nunez, assistant editor

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke and Christopher Beall are expected to assume their new responsibilities as members of the Amtrak Board of Directors soon.

They were nominated by President Obama and recently confirmed by the United States Senate. Each will serve a five-year term.

“Yvonne and Chris strengthen the make up of the board with greater geographic representation, bring a wealth of experience and transportation knowledge, as well as a strong commitment to the continued growth of America’s railroad,” said Chairman Thomas Carper. “We welcome our newest members and know they will contribute to the current and future success of the nation’s intercity passenger rail provider and high-speed rail operator.”

Chairman Carper noted that with the arrival of these new members, all nine director positions will be filled. They will join himself, Anthony R. Coscia, Bert DiClemente, Jeffrey R. Moreland, Nancy Naples, U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray La Hood and Amtrak President and CEO Joseph Boardman on the Amtrak board of directors.

Yvonne Brathwaite Burke is from Los Angeles, Calif. She is currently a member of the California Transportation Commission. From 1992 to 2008, she served as a Los Angeles County supervisor representing the 2nd District and was chair three times. On December 1, 2008, she retired from the board of supervisors. She also served for 16 years on the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority Board of Directors, serving as chair for one term.

Christopher Beall joined Highstar Capital in 2004 and he serves on Highstar’s Investment and Executive Committees. Beall has more than 12 years of experience in direct investments, investment banking and finance. He currently serves on the Boards of Directors of Star Atlantic and the Ports America Companies. Prior to joining Highstar, he worked in the Global Natural Resources Group at Lehman Brothers, Inc., and in operations and engineering at Koch Gateway Pipeline Company, a natural gas transmission pipeline owned by Koch Industries, Inc.

Categories: Uncategorized