Capitol Corridor authority elects two to serve as new board leaders

Written by Kyra Senese, Managing Editor
image description

The Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority (CCJPA) Board of Directors elected Rebecca Saltzman as chair and Don Saylor as vice chair.

The two new appointees assumed their leadership roles on Feb. 13, 2019, during the CCJPA Board meeting in Suisun, Calif. Saltzman and Saylor will each serve two-year terms in their new positions.

Saltzman, who CCJPA said has served on the Board since January of 2014, is also vice president of the Board for Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART).

“I’d like to extend my thanks to outgoing Chair Lucas Frerichs for his leadership over the past two years,” a statement said.

Officials said Saltzman’s guidance helped during the installation of the award-winning Richmond “Courtesy Light,” which is intended to alert Capitol Corridor conductors on eastbound trains to incoming Northbound BART trains, which is expected to enable passengers to make their connections and avoid long wait times for later Capitol Corridor trains.

Saltzman has worked for about 20 years as a public transit and policy advocate, coalition builder, organizer and manager with local, state and national issue-based organizations, CCJPA said.

CCJPA’s new vice chair, Don Saylor, has served on the CCJPA Board since September of 2016, according to a statement. Saylor has had a career in public service for nearly four decades.

Twenty years of Saylor’s career were spent while elected in office, administrative, planning and analytical positions in local government and both the legislative and executive branches of California state government, CCJPA said.

In other news, the CCJPA Board also recently welcomed three new members: Mark Foley, BART Board director for District 2 of Contra Costa County, Kerri Howell of Sacramento Regional Transit, and Janice Li; BART Board Director for District 8 of San Francisco County.

CCJPA explained that the newly-appointed members are replacing outgoing members Joel Keller, Jeff Harris and Nicholas Josefowitz, respectively.

Tags: , , ,