Tarrytown, used by about 6,000 people a day from Westchester and Rockland counties, was completely torn down and rebuilt with $36 million in funding from the MTA Capital Program with a grant from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.
"This is a first-rate project that has vastly improved the daily experience of thousands of customers and travelers and is sure to make this busy station even busier," said MTA Chairman and CEO Joseph Lhota.
Tarrytown's two existing elevators were replaced and a third was added to serve the large west side parking area. Six staircases serving the overpasses and two staircases that connect platforms to sidewalks on the east side, both 10-car platforms and canopies also were replaced.
Under a separate $2 million project, the Tarrytown Station building was completely restored. The building has been in continuous use since it was built in 1890 by the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad. It received a new slate roof, gutters and canopy supports. Three dormer windows that had been sliced off decades ago during a prior roof job were reconstructed and now the afternoon sunlight brightens the waiting room. Outside in front, the roof overhang on the eastern façade, which had been truncated to accommodate the height of buses at the curb, was restored to its original dimensions and the sidewalk was widened.
Platform reconstruction was phased to minimize disruption and to maintain accessibility for the disabled. Canopies now have pigeon-proof netting. Also installed are gooseneck lighting, heated shelters, benches, recycling centers, railings, tactile warning strips, CCTV cameras, information kiosks, public address systems and visual information systems for people with auditory impairments.
Construction at Tarrytown was by Yonkers Contracting Corp, of Yonkers, N.Y. Construction management for the platform work was done by URS Corporation. Design of the station building restoration was done by DMJM-Harris (now AECOM) and the work was done by Agency Construction of Mamaroneck.