SFMTA renames streetcar yard for Cameron Beach

Written by admin

The San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors, which oversees all surface transportation in the city, including the Municipal Railway (Muni), held a ceremony to rename Muni's Geneva Yard for SFMTA board member and transit advocate Cameron Beach.

“Cameron’s passion to deliver a world-class public transportation system to San Francisco was shaped not just by his vast transportation experience informed by decades of work but most importantly by the riders of Muni themselves,” said San Francisco Mayor Edwin Lee. “His leadership and commitment to them and to our operators, maintenance workers, bicyclists and pedestrians is reflected every day in the operations of our SFMTA. As we dedicate this yard to Cameron’s legacy, we also rededicate ourselves to providing our city with the transportation system it deserves.”

“As a daily Muni rider and native San Franciscan, Cam had an unparalleled passion for Muni, our customers and the future of this system,” said Tom Nolan, chairman of the SFMTA Board of Directors. “His expertise and insight are greatly missed. This action is a fitting memorial to his legacy for this agency, this city and the public transportation industry.”

Beach, who passed away this spring, was a member of the SFMTA Board of Directors for more than four years and was especially admired for his transit expertise and passion for public transportation. His career in transportation spanned 44 years, including 25 years with the Sacramento Regional Transit District. Beach’s committee and board memberships in the transit industry also included serving as chair of California Operation Lifesaver, past chair of the American Public Transportation Association’s Light Rail Committee, vice chair of APTA’s Committee on Public Safety, as well as member of the APTA Alternate Fuels Committee, the APTA Heritage Streetcar Subcommittee and the APTA Light Rail Transit Technical Forum. Earlier this month Beach was posthumously awarded APTA’s Distinguished Service Award.

Categories: Commuter/Regional, Rapid Transit/Light Rail, Yards & Terminals