Houston Metro adds new board member, reappoints three others

Written by Kyra Senese, managing editor
image description
From left to right: Troi Taylor, Teresa “Terry” Morales, Carrin Patman, Sanjay Ramabhadran | Photo: Metro

Teresa Morales is the newest member of Texas’ Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County (Metro) Board of Directors.

Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner appointed Morales to the role, which was approved July 11 by the Houston City Council.

Metro Board Chair Carrin Patman and Board members Lex Frieden, Troi Taylor and Sanjay Ramabhadran were also reappointed the same day.

Morales is a senior vice president of Amegy Bank in the corporate banking division and is a native Houstonian.

An alumna of the University of Houston, as well as Leadership Houston and the Center for Houston’s Future. She also serves on the board of Houston/Gulf Coast chapter of the American Leadership Forum, officials said.

“It’s really an honor because I grew up in the East End. Our main mode of transportation was public transportation, so to serve on the Metro Board is such an honor,” Morales said. “I look forward to working with all of you as well as the rest of the Metro Board members.”

Morales succeeds Christof Spieler, whose term expired earlier in 2018. Metro said Spieler played a key role in the development of its redesigned local bus network and other transit improvements.

The terms for all five members confirmed July 11 will expire in 2020.

Categories: Commuter/Regional, OFF Track Maintenance, Passenger, Rapid Transit/Light Rail
Tags: ,