HART board elects new board officers

Written by Kyra Senese, managing editor
image description

The Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority (HART) Board of Directors elected its new board officers for 2019 this week.

The HART board reelected Hillsborough County Commissioner Lesley “Les” Miller as chair and Tampa City Councilman Mike Suarez as the Board of Directors’ secretary. Melanie Williams was selected as vice chairperson.

HART said the organization expects to have an exciting year in 2019, with goals including continued testing with the Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority (THEA) Connected Vehicle (CV) Pilot, and hiring a new chief executive officer.

Appointments to other boards and committees include:

Claims and Litigation Committee
Member: David Mechanik
Alternate Member: Adam Harden

HART ADA Committee
Member: Commissioner Mariella Smith
Alternate Member: C. John Melendez

Tampa Historic Streetcar, Inc. Board
Members: David Mechanik, Adam Harden
Alternate Members:

Hillsborough County Metropolitan Planning Organization Board
Member: David Mechanik
Alternate Member: Adam Harden

Transportation Disadvantaged Coordinating Board
Member: C. John Melendez
Alternate Member: City of Temple Terrace Councilman Gil Schisler

Member: Richard McClain

HART’s officers are elected by the Board of Directors every year and can serve up to three consecutive terms.

The board is tasked with setting policy and making decisions for HART regarding a range of issues, such as system operations, service planning, fare structure, finance and customer service, the authority said.

The board includes up to 13 volunteers who are selected to represent Hillsborough County, the city of Tampa, the state of Florida and the city of Temple Terrace.

Categories: OFF Track Maintenance, Rapid Transit/Light Rail
Tags: , , ,