ASLRRA names both Safety Pro, Safety Person of the Year

Written by admin

The American Short Line & Regional Railroad Association has named Tyrone James, vice president of Safety & Compliance at Genesee & Wyoming, as the winner of this year's Safety Professional of the Year Award. ASLRRA also announced that Aaron Willet, superintendent of Operations at the Illinois Railway, as the winner of its 2012 Safety Person of the Year award.

ASLRRA highlighted the announcements in its April-May 2012 Safety Bulletin.

The Safety Pro award is bestowed by ASLRRA each year “to the railroad management employee who demonstrates an exceptional work ethic and dedication to safety,” ASLRRA said.

John Hellman, president and CEO of Genesee & Wyoming, said, “Without a doubt, Tyrone embodies the Award criteria. He is an excellent communicator, motivator and organizes others for a common purpose in the interest of safety. He is selfless in his actions and does not do his job for recognition, but for results. Tyrone’s depth of expertise coupled with his obvious devotion to fellow railroaders makes his safety message profoundly resonate with our people.”

In turn, the Safety Person award identifies the individual “who distinguishes him or herself from others and whose passion, dedication, and commitment to safety leads others to do the same,” ASLRRA said. “Willet has never had an FRA reportable injury since he began his career in the railroad industry in 2000,” it added.

Illinois Railway President Gary Long noted, “Although Aaron is not considered to be a professional safety management associate, he best exemplifies a model of safe work performance.”

Categories: Safety/Training, Shortline/Regional